8 months in…

Another scan, and still stable! I had another x-ray this past Monday and things look relatively the same. Of course, I would love to say that it shrunk like crazy and like magic, “there’s no more cancer!”, but unfortunately it is a long process and I am trying to stay positive and hope that it is shrinking ever so slightly. X-rays are not “exact” measurements so we never get concrete answers but it allows us to make sure that it isn’t spreading. I have a CT and MRI planned for the end of January where we will be able to get exact measurements (down to the mm) to see how much it has shrunk. Once we know dimensions and are able to determine just how effective these pills have been over the past 6 months (crazy how fast time is flying!!!), we will once again re-evaluate our game-plan. At this point, I am grateful that I have been given a “chance” at life and continue to be hopeful that I will one day be NED.

I have to thank EVERYONE who has helped to support Lung Cancer research and awareness these past two months. It has been truly amazing to see the response to my “just breathe” bracelets and am still thrilled anytime I run into someone wearing them! We have officially sold out online and this design will no longer be available. I should have a new “2016” version available next November so be sure to check etsy next year during “Lung Cancer Awareness Month” to see what we came up with! Thank you again! I believe a few bracelets are still available at Cottage Blue Home in Cornwall and through Catherine Pate in Fort McMurray.

Loupe-uhfas258-2

                        Thank you all for sharing your “just breathe” pictures!

I would also like to say a HUGE thank you to the Cottage Blue for organizing an amazing fundraiser in Cornwall, Ontario. Many local businesses came together to support Lung Cancer Awareness and Research. I can’t thank the amazing staff from Cottage Blue enough for their continual support since Day 1. Here are a few photos from this fantastic event!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 11.54.54 PM.png

I will be tallying up all of the funds raised over the past 2 months and will be sure to share our final numbers once it has all been donated!!

I was also very fortunate to be able to return back to Fort McMurray to visit the students and staff I left behind at Father Mercredi. Spending the day with the students was unbelievably heart-warming. They continue to give me the strength to keep on fighting. Here are a few photos and a video (Courtesy of Shaw TV Fort McMurray) from an absolutely perfect day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 11.35.05 PM

IMG_3098

These 2 beautiful students of mine who donated their hair to “Locks of Love”.    They certainly inspired me to do the same. How amazing are they!? Love you both! xo

We are thrilled to be able to spend Christmas with our families and are really looking forward to Jack’s first Christmas! With that being said, I will be taking a little “social media” break and signing off for the next month! I will have a CT scan and MRI at the end of January and will be sure to share what our next steps will be with all of you.

Wishing you and your families a VERY Merry Christmas and all the best in the New Year!

Love, Elizabeth xo

4 thoughts on “8 months in…

  1. Happy to read your letter and want to wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas and I pray for you every day. I proudly wear my “just breath” bracelet that I purchased through Elizabeth Kyle, my very dearest friend. Sending you love and strength. Gloria Ross

    Like

  2. What a positive encouraging post…Merry Christmas to you and all your family…what a beautiful time it will be celebrating with little Jack!! Continuing to keep you in prayer. Dee Mills Dee Mills

    Sent from my Sony Xperia™ smartphone

    Like

  3. Good news!! I agree plain CXR can reassure no spread but can underestimate regression- those scans at the end of the month will surely be even more reassuring. Remember we are all just living one day at a time. i hope there is some Florida time on the agenda soon- ENJOY! >

    Like

  4. I am so very happy to have found this update about you and glad you are remaining strong and positive. I lost my best friend, my mom from lung cancer Jan 2014. It was too late for her when it was detected. I didn’t know how to survive without her, even with a wonderful husband and 18 year old son. When I saw your bracelets on etsy, I bought 2 of them. One went to my son and the other was for me, so I could think about my mom’s battle and yours. My best friend ended up taking mine ( she lost her mom as well) so I’m glad to hear you will be making/selling more this year.

    Take care and my thoughts are with you and your family.

    Sylvie

    Like

Leave a comment